NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

Beginning of a new chapter…

Posted on: January 23, 2013

First things first – happy new year guys! Apologies for the late(ish) start to my blogging in 2013, you’ll understand why in a couple moments!

So if you are friends with me on facebook you may’ve seen the news that something rather significant happened in my life this week; my wife got offered an amazing job in Dubai and in a matter of about a 2 or 3 week period we bit the bullet and decided to make the move to the UAE. Yes seriously! In fact I am writing this blog post sitting in our apartment overlooking Dubai Marina. It was a very sudden decision that if I’m honest shocked a lot of our friends and family but after much soul searching we thought ‘ya know what? Let’s just do it!’ – and 2 weeks later we’re here!

As such… it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work out that if I arrived into Dubai yesterday I’m obviously not at the Les Mills filmings today in Auckland! Well, I love blogging, I love learning about the new releases just as much as you and I love the interaction, thoughts and comments we have right here on this site; so in an ideal world I’d love to continue this blog ‘business as usual’.

That’s where you come in… if you’re an international coming in for a filming in the future whether it be BODYCOMBAT, BODYPUMP or any other program and you’d like to “guest blog” for me (with full credit and kudos to you of course!) then contact me here or give me a shout on facebook. Don’t worry about not knowing the ‘rules’ about blogging on LM – I’ll help you there. Together we can keep The Tribe informed on the latest happs and continue to give the thousands of Les Mills junkies just like you and me their quarterly fix on the latest news. So that’s the plan!

This quarter the amazing Deb Shafran from the USA has offered to give us the latest goss on BODYCOMBAT 56 (hmm maybe offered isn’t the right word as I kinda twisted her arm haha) – which is awesome news for all of us! And hey if you’re reading this and you’re attending BC56 or BP86 etc and would like to contribute the more the merrier! I’m happy to add more than one perspective on the releases… that actually could be really interesting!

And hey, the plus side is you won’t just be getting one crazy blonde Kiwi’s opinion on everything anymore😉 So onwards and upwards with this blog it would seem!

Off to Dubai

Yours truly about to board plane to Dubai

In the meantime I’ll continue to update this as much as I can with the latest filming information, tracklists, sizzlers and Les Mills goss and info. I’m lucky enough to have the latest DVD kits for BODYCOMBAT 55 and BODYPUMP 85 in my wee hands now so will be able to start telling you more about those soon. And, I might even include a few posts from locally here in Dubai where the fitness industry is just BOOMING and there are massive MEGACLUBS opening seemingly every month or two.

All very exciting stuff! And hey, one final note, if you are reading this from Dubai and would like a new addition to your group fitness team or have a team teach give me a shout out! I’d LOVE to hear from you. Hit me up here or on facebook.

Cheers everyone and look out for info on BODYCOMBAT 56 coming soon!

27 Responses to "Beginning of a new chapter…"

Good to know that you’ll be continuing to blog about all the goss on upcoming LM releases (with help). That’s great because I love reading your posts🙂

All the best with the new chapter to your life! Hope it goes well.

Cheers Lenor – no definitely couldn’t stop even if I wanted to I’m hooked on all the latest info just like you!

Thanks again🙂

Wow Glen, big step! However, with everything I’ve gone through in the last few weeks/months, I believe that life is far too short to not jump in and take a chance🙂 Enjoy the change. I’m in no doubt you will both flourish over there.

Thank you!! I agree sometimes you just gotta take the jump!

Such a fun adventure and I hope that you get snatched up by a club right away! Anyone would be lucky to have an instructor with your passion and enthusiasm! If you ever come to the us, come teach pump with me!!!🙂

Aww thanks Melida made my day!

I’m a bit jealous… good on you for just leaping into a new adventure.

Leaping is the word!! You know what they say about not looking before you leap though haha🙂

Hey Glen, sorry to have missed you by a day, Im here in Auckland and just did the filming of BP86 this morning. I’m not a ‘blogger’, but will try to collect my thoughts and give you some feedback. Doing the masterclass for BC56 next Tuesday (though did a practise run with Dan and Rach this afternoon). All exciting stuff! Will be in touch soon.
PS: I also just met a Deb from the US (assuming its the same Deb you mentioned), Im sure she will be a good help too🙂

Thanks Kat! Love to hear your thoughts!

Wow, what a huge move. Total respect, especially in so little time. Congrats to the Mrs on her new job. Would be amazing to work out there. If you hear of any Web Developer jobs😛

You guys coming to the UK this year? SQW in Edinburgh in March (think of spontaneous, bookings go live this morning :P)…..

Who knows we may just make it!! We do have another UK wedding coming up around then!

Sometimes the best decisions you make in life are the ones that take you right out of your comfort zone! Hope it all works out for you in UAE.

As for BC56 – I’ve done it 3 times with Dan & Rach at LM Auckland and if I was to describe it in 1 word it would be simply ‘Awesome’ – I really loved this release… even the ‘re-used’ track they took from a much earlier BC release.

Oh no Nick you and I have totally different combat preferences I’m picking there’s a lot of rock then!! Haha🙂

Congrats Glen to you and Stacy both. How exciting to start an adventure like that, out of the blue. And you know what, you never know what happens, so enjoy your time!!!!
I will be heading over to NZ for the May tapings, so would love to help out with your blogging next time around. It will probably be my one and only time to leave the US for it, so I want to immerse myself in it!!!!

Ohhh Denise consider yourself booked in would LOVE to hear your thoughts on that release!

Good luck in UAE mate. Keep on blogging!

Cheers Tom will do!

Hi there! Leaving tomorrow for AKL where I will meet w/ Deb Shafran. I can’t wait. My “specialty” is Jam, but I also will do Combat and Pump. I will be happy to blog and document, help you in any way. Let me k ow what to do. I arrive on 1-26.
Kia Kaha!

That would be great Marcella would be awesome to get differing opinions – could really work well would love to hear your thoughts! Thanks!!!😀

Do I post here? Is Facebook ok?

Haha good point! You can message me on facebook that might be easier?

Ok! Sounds great! I can’t wait to be there!

Wow Glen, what an adventure! It sounds so exciting!I have been reading your blog for a couple of months now. My first bodycombat class was BC 53. I have been an BC addict since! Your blog is my go to blog for all the latest bodycombat and less mils news! I am glad your continuing the blog!

Congrats to Mrs nzglen and to yourself on the onwards & upwards move to Dubai – when an opportunity presents itself such as it seems has, take it – he (or she) who hesitates, has lost. I’ll miss the personal accounts/review of the new release (filming) critiques, as I’ve come to really enjoy them and get a “feel” for them. Our musical tastes differ somewhat, but the essence of the tracks, choreography, etc. that you provide generally are in tune with my own. I re-read your critiques after doing the workshops and see how similar my own thoughts, opinions on the new release were – or how way out. Keep up the great work on your Blog, as it’s most interesting, informative and entertaining. Cheers.

Hi Glen,

I started reading your blog a long time ago now.
I’m a Les Mills fanatic and I just moved from Paris to Dubai as well, living and working on Marina.
Just signed up at fitness to follow some Les Mills program.
Would be happy to meet you to share our passion.
Do not hesitate to contact me,

Steve

Cheers Steve! Look out for my new gym TribeFit opening in the marina in a couple weeks!

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,668 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,608,878 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

