NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

BODYPUMP 81 filming

Posted on: November 8, 2011

I don’t usually write about BODYPUMP filmings but as a few of you have asked about it and now I know a bit more about the entire process after my interview with Glen for BODYPUMP 80 I thought I’d write a quick post about it.

If you read my BODYCOMBAT 51 post you’ll know I didn’t actually participate in this one. I did see the release from the squat track on though and it was the first time I’ve actually ‘watched’ a BODYPUMP filming (I’m usually always participating). It was quite fascinating to actually just witness the event as you can take a lot more in – especially when you’re not busting your gut just trying to complete a set!

Again I did try to make a timetabled team teach of this release beforehand on the Saturday (as I did with combat). A group of us set up our equipment to do the class then noticed it wasn’t actually a full BP81 rehearsal at all, rather it was Ruthie T and Héctor Ponce Cortegana (from the Netherlands who was an 81 presenter). When the warmup started and it was ‘Saturday’ from BP78 we turned to each other and decided to pack up and leave. Ruthie/Héctor if you saw a group of us go it wasn’t anything personal, we’d already done 4 classes that day and had come in especially to see 81, so sorry we left, if anything we were all a bit disappointed as the BC51 team teach didn’t happen beforehand either!

Anyway, BODYPUMP 81 was presented by Glen and Susan, Héctor (above) and Shaun Egan from the UK. I do have to make a special mention of Shaun; man the guy blew me away. The way he instructs really resonated with me, strong powerful delivery – it was awesome! I saw him present the back and shoulder tracks and both were out of this world – in fact watching him present the shoulder track actually gave me goosebumps! (I’m not kidding!) Wicked wicked job.

Although I can’t mention specifics about any of the music I can give you a feel for each track (except the warmup as I missed it!) Squats was a very well known track that’s by a very well known band, however it was a cover. I was a bit concerned when I heard it as everyone will be immediately aware it’s not the original and it will probably raise a few eyebrows. I’m always a little worried when LM remake a track from a supergroup like U2/Bon Jovi/Guns n Roses etc as these bands are so established that it’s instantly recognisable when they are covered (wait to you hear the cover of the coodown in BC50 as an example). We can remake slightly more obscure bands or pop tracks any day of the week no problem, but these iconic bands when covered are a lot harder to sell as people have heard their music hundreds of times throughout their lives. But that’s kinda my pet peeve and most probably feel differently. I can’t really speak of the chorey for this track as I arrived towards the end of it.

Chest is a poppy track that’s also in BODYCOMBAT 51. Seemed fun! Back was one of the two stand out tracks for me. I had another instructor come up to me after the filming and say “Oh my God did you see that back track – it must be like 9 minutes!”. It. Is. HUGE. Just when you think it’s over there’s more – then more! Massive track and loved the music and chorey – plus Shaun delivered it with absolute precision.

Triceps – didn’t really recognise the tune – but again it was pop. Biceps was rock – think BP77ish. Seemed to go down well. Héctor presented that one. Lunges sees the return of a BODYPUMP super regular artist! (no not Pink – but probably your next guess is right!) – hope you like the new move in BP80 that’s all I’ll say about that! Shoulders I’ve spoken about before. I don’t know the track (in fact I’m not even sure it had any lyrics!) but felt very ‘operation blade’ like – dark, powerful and EPIC!

Abs was similar in style to the ab tracks of late (like We No Speak No Americano or Please Don’t Go) – seemed okay. For me personally the last few ab tracks have been a bit, umm, how do I say it, “odd”? If you look at the ab tracks from say BP76 (Cooler Than Me) through to BP79 (We’ll Be Alright) they are all a bit quirky don’t you think? They seem to have lost a bit of the intensity from the previous ones like BP75 (More), 74 (In My Head), 73 (SOS Let The Music Play) etc. Do you agree? Anyway – 81 follows on in a similar vein in my opinion.

As far as an overall feel for the release? Well the emphasis for this release seemed to go back to building ‘pressure’ in the muscles. There was a big push towards hitting this 800 rep figure that seems to be a theme in the new Les Mills Pump, as well as *cough splutter* “The Rep Effect”.  Again I LOVED the back and shoulder tracks! They will go down in history as standouts for sure. Lunges looked like a butt kicker and rock lovers will enjoy biceps. All in all 81 looked great!

14 Responses to "BODYPUMP 81 filming"

Just to clarify the back track wasn’t 9 minutes of course – it just felt that way!!

About the covers, you are completely right. I always notice there is something -not right- in the covered tracks. However, I love when the songs are remade further than a single cover. For example, “The time” in BC 48 was pretty cool. “Na na na” is also probably better than the original, so I guess this time will be ok too 😀

Oh I agree some of the LM covers are better than the originals for sure. I prefer the pump version of Boom Boom Pow to the original as an example. But when they redo tracks everyone knows like the back of their hands its a bit tougher. Everyone will know the squat track in 81 and they’ll know it’s a cover (and dare I say not the best one).

Thanks for your comment 🙂

Very cool posts this morning nzglen! Loved your insights on the tapings & your impressions on upcoming releases. Looking forward to seeing “T” for myself on the next BC, love to get inspired by great teaching styles 🙂 Completely agree with you regarding track 8 – I love ending combat with the hard trance and epic music styles best. They’re less predictable, and feel more like a journey rather than a recipe if that makes any sense?

Shaun was in Attack 53 (and I believe Pump 58 which was the same quarter). It was really interesting seeing someone who is obviously a strong Pumper do Attack!

Great post as always Glen!

Thanks Kim – I agree 100%!

Chad I didn’t know he taught attack!? That’s awesome will have to check it out – I can’t imagine it to be fair! (mind you I can’t imagine Glen O teaching attack either!) 😀

Ha! Yeah Glen was in Attack 50 and 51. He was much more lean compared to how muscular he is now (obviously… being the PD for Pump this is understandable). But he did a great job presenting. In your interview when he said he has a hard time with the showy stuff… I can totally see that in his early presenting days.

Next you’ll be telling me Dan Cohen used to teach attack!

Lol! Not that I know of… although I have seen him participate in several of the DVDs. 😛

I didn’t mind Shaun in Attack, and I liked Glen. They were in my first couple of DVDs. I was surprised when I heard Shaun was Pump, I suppose first impressions stick.
I heard a couple of years ago that between Dan and Rach they taught all 7 programs. Must have been a while ago if there were only 7 at the time. I wonder which one was Balance?

I’ve seen both D&R participate in various Attack releases but never heard that either of them taught it… that’d be interesting. But on the flipside, I’ve also heard Lisa Osborne used to be a Combat mastertrainer. THAT would be VERY fun to watch. I’d certify in EVERY program if she were the PD on them 😛 Except Step, which ironically I know she’s on… but that’s just because I can’t do it without hurting myself.

I thought Glen did a good job and I knew that Attack was his first format he trained in. Shaun my impression was basically “He’s a Pump instructor who also teaches Attack… got it.” Nothing against him AT ALL, that was just what came to me. I have no issue with him as a presenter 🙂

Lunges sees the return of a BODYPUMP super regular artist! (no not Pink – but probably your next guess is right!) — My guess is Cascada!

SERIOUSLY…… no cover will ever, ever, ever be as horrific as the PPCA free cover of triceps, Bad Influence (P!NK) with a guy ‘singing’ it, BADLY. Think it got put away after launch week everyone hated that much. I laughed so hard first time i did it i hit my forehead hard doing an extension, at least my abs had a great workout. Aussies will know what I mean. A true shame on you LM moment.

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,667 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,672,835 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

