NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

Happy birthday to blog!

Posted on: August 31, 2010

I just this week realised that this month marks the 2nd birthday of this blog – it was officially started in August 2008 when I first started instructing BODYCOMBAT. My how times flies! Quite a bit has changed in the last two years. Back then I actually didn’t have any classes of my own – in fact I wasn’t even certified I was only shadowing other instructors… nowadays I’m teaching classes every day of the week in three different programmes and absolutely loving every moment of it!

This blog has taken on a bit of a life of its own as well – when I started it, it literally had 1-2 dozen visits per day and was really more of a personal record of my passion for Les Mills. These days it averages 3000-5000 visits per day, in fact we’re about to reach 1.5 MILLION unique visitors! Thanks so much for your support – I’ll continue to keep it as updated as I can.

In celebration of the two year milestone I’ll pull one of my more popular posts out of the archives. I get asked about this topic all the time, both by members, readers and on facebook; “how many calories do we burn in a BODYCOMBAT class?” I originally wrote about this topic in 2008 and I still occasionally wear a heart rate monitor to class and yes the below still holds true now. If you’ve not read it before take a look as you’ll probably find it quite interesting. In the meantime thanks again for reading – you guys rock! 🙂

Calories burnt in a BODYCOMBAT class

I get a lot of questions regarding the number of calories one can burn during a BodyCombat class (or BodyPump class for that matter). Whilst this is almost impossible to determine with 100% accuracy some of the more advanced heart rate monitors (HRM) have the ability to estimate your caloric expenditure using calculations based on your weight, gender, resting heart rate and of course your heart rate whilst exercising. I wore my heart rate monitor (a Polar F11) to every class I did for three straight months, so I’ve now got a pretty good idea of the approx amount of calories I personally burn in a class.

With a few exceptions I almost always track between 800-900 calories per Body Combat class – now that may seem high but there’s a couple of factors to bear in mind. First I’m not a small guy, I’m a dash under 6’1″, and weigh about 82 kg (about 182 lbs), and I’m one of those freaks that puts 110% effort into every movement, and then some. I’ve also found you burn a lot more calories whilst instructing, not sure if it’s the extra adrenalin boost, nerves boosting your heart rate or the fact that you know you’re on display so always strive for perfect technique and maximum effort – but it’s definitely noticeable. In fact I’ve gotten as high as 1050 calories in a one hour class before!

In class this morning a member mentioned she only burns about 600 per class (she also wears an HRM), and that got me thinking. I weigh about 80 kg and burn say, 800 in an average class. She’s about 60 kg and burns 600 on average (and she does train very hard). Could there be a simple direct relationship here? It does make sense that if you’re 25% larger you’ll exert 25% more energy moving that mass. Maybe for those without a HRM a basic calculation of 100 calories per 10kg of bodyweight could work? Food for thought anyway…

15 Responses to "Happy birthday to blog!"

Oh, and I also I commented on this at the time: Found an interesting site – take a look at http://www.drgily.com/activity-calories-burned.php?ex_id=15430 It seems pretty accurate, I typed in 60 minutes at my weight (180lbs) and it came out 850 or so calories… pretty much exactly what my HRM says. Give it a try

I think as an instructor you will be talking/shouting a lot more than anyone else and that in itself will also be contributing to the additional calories. I am 5.9, 80kg and full on, burn 650-700 cals, but always at the higher end if I’ve been singing as I go along, same holds especially true for pump, where you can really sing along if you want, makes huge calorie burn difference. I’ve been wearing HRM (Polar or Garmin) for a year and consistently see ups with singing/vocabulary

You make an interesting point! A lot of those measurements were taken when participating – however since when instructing I have measured 1,200 calories in one class before. Maybe using your voice makes a big difference!

Perhaps we should encourage more singing in class! 🙂

I’m 1’81 and 66 k my hrm says that I burn more than 800 calories….so 🙂 I suppose there isn’t a relation between kg and calories ( or maybe I’m breaking the rules ^^,)

Happy birthday and a big thank you for writing this blog!

It’s been a good 2 years with many interesting posts. Keep up the good work fella 🙂

I burn about 800 – 900 cals in an hours class. Going to see if this changes going from participant to instructor lol. Would love to nail out over 1000 cals 😀

I wear a HRM during Body Combat – depending on how hard I work, I do an average of 800 calories per 60 minute class but have gotten up to 1100. I also happen to weigh 110 kg and am only 5′ even. So… your estimation isn’t bad. 🙂

Congrats! Love the blog. I burn between 400-600 calories in a BC class, achieving 600 is hard and in addition to my own effort it also depends on how hard the instructor is pushing me/us. I’m 60kg/ 1’65.

Happy blogbirthday Glen, thanks for keeping the blog up to date and us up to speed with the latest in LM land 😉 Checking out the blog at least 4 times a week and it almost never disappoints! (you think I should get a life? okay, off to the gym then gheghe)

Happy Blogiversary!!

Sooo unfair!!! LOL I’d LOVE to burn 800+ cals per class. My highest so far (as instructor) was 720cals. Usually though, I burn about 600+ per class. Now what do I need to do to up my game?? o.O

Congrats on the 2 years, Glen!! Keep up the awesome posts! 😀

KEEP BLOGGING, Glen!!! You inspire me! I hope some day my blog can pull those kind of numbers! THank you for sharing your passion for what you do. It’s good to know we are all in this together:)

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,668 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,690,907 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

