NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

BODYCOMBAT 46/BODYPUMP 76 update

Posted on: August 24, 2010

Okay team, bit slow off the mark here but better late than never! As you may know I was in Europe for this filming round, so I actually missed the classes. However I’ve had numerous reports from people who were there and I’ll try to update you as much as I’m allowed… but, obviously as I wasn’t personally there I can’t go into the detail I’d normally go into.

Firstly BODYCOMBAT 46. BC46 was presented by Dan and Rach, Hernan and Shaunna May from the USA (for more on this see Raina’s blog here). As seems to be the case with recent BODYCOMBAT releases I’ve had mixed reports. Let me put it this way – BODYCOMBAT 43 was pretty much unanimously considered to be a fantastic release. Definitely The Black Pearl has gone down as possibly the best track 6 ever – Send Me An Angel, Overload, Lovedrunk – all brilliant tracks. 43 was definitely considered a hit. BC44 – not so much. Pretty much all reports I’ve had back from instructors all over the world was that the komodo dragon move is a disaster (and I’ve done this release in 4 or 5 countries now!). รฌNessun Dormaรฎ although made for an interesting change was no Black Pearl – The Time of our Lives didn’t quite peak like Send Me An Angel and Energy didn’t set the scene for the workout ahead like Lovedrunk – although there’s no denying Your Shining was a great one. BC45, well to be honest it didn’t blow me away at the filming. I was a little confused as to why Because the Night was brought back so soon (it was in BC38!), that darn komodo dragon is back (sigh), Russian Roulette whilst is nice is just so sooo slow, and Proud Mary just doesn’t work at all (in my mind). However the release did grow on me a little at the workshop over the weekend, and perhaps I’ll enjoy it more when we release it here next week. But what has all this got to do with BC46?

I guess my point is after BC43 response to the releases have been “mixed”… and again it looks like 46 is no exception. What can I tell you. Well, firstly – there’s no komodo dragon (yay!!). Those of us with smaller group fitness studios rejoice! As I’ve said before, although the track seems to work at Les Mills Auckland (where the main studio holds 300!) – it doesn’t work in typical packed studios that hold 30-50 people. There’s just not enough room to go forward in busy classes and the move ends up being a mess. However in BC46 the conditioning is just pure ab work (in fact I’ve been told it feels like a BODYPUMP track 9 more than a combat – which I think is a good thing).

This is what I found funny though – here is the description I was given of 46’s track (6 oops) – I mean 5;ย “some weird ass Russian Folk Song” – Russian Folk?? You can’t help but picture those Russian Cossack dancers can you?! Don’t worry I checked and this move is not in the chorey! (but OMG imagine if it was- heck of a leg workout!) ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve seen the tracklist for 46, and there’s a couple of interesting tracks (Russian Folk aside!). I can’t specifically name any tracks as you probably know – but, if I were to ask you who is a stock standard artist we’ve seen in many a combat track 3 or 8 what would you answer? Well yes, she’s in 46 as well (the track is a pump squat track if that helps!)

One thing I have heard is the warmup in 46 is brilliant – word is it’s almost too good to be a warmup! So look forward to that. I’ll of course update on more on 46 when I see it (which admittedly won’t be for some time) – but, hopefully it’s one of those releases that grows on you. Moving on…

BODYPUMP 76; okay, this is where it seems to get good! BP76 was presented by Glen, Susan, Emma Barry, Mark Sinclair and Ruthie T! (again, for more on this see Raina’s blog). Here’s what PJ had to say about it: “I was totally blown away by this release – I am starting to have doubts if Glen will be able to come up with anything awesome-er to top this release, but I won’t underestimate his magic…” – that’s a pretty great review!! Especially considering how great 75 is! You can read PJ’s full report plus pics on his blog here. So what did my other spies tell me?

Okay – well the first thing I noticed when I looked at BP76’s tracklist is we once again are missing a lot of rock. Lack of rock is the first thing I noticed when I did BP75 too. Personally, I’m happy with rock,. trance, dance, anything in pump as long as it has a driving beat and the music peaks. So, not having any rock doesn’t bother me so much if the other tracks are driving and uplifting (which in 75 I know they are). But, I do know some of my participants just love it so it would be nice to see a bit more in there. Here’s what else I noticed, the tracklist has a large amount of female pop (like half the class!). In fact, although there’s no Pink or Britney, if you could rattle of five other female pop artists they’re all in there! Don’t despair though – I’m told the remixes are awesome! And, everyone I’ve spoken to LOVES the shoulder track! Could it be better than the shoulder track from BP75? Personally I don’t see how that’s possible but time will tell!

So there you have it!

As I mentioned we’ve got local releases of BC75 and BC45 next week so I’ll let you know my thoughts on those after I’ve taught them a few times. In the meantime I hope the above gives you at least some idea, given it is an update on the releases, without naming any artists or specific choreography from someone who wasn’t even there! (thinking about it how did I even manage to write this post?!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

19 Responses to "BODYCOMBAT 46/BODYPUMP 76 update"

LOL – you are so funny, Glen!

I am more and more psyched about BP and BA.

Cheers mate! keep up the good work.

Thanks for that! Can’t think beyond BC45 workshop in a week or two and our launch, but certainly looking forward to BC46 at any rate!! Thanks for sharing! Already looking forward to the warmup! ๐Ÿ˜€

I’m looking forward to seeing 46 as well! especially the Russian Cossack dance hehe ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve just done BC45 in full for the 2nd time and it was just awesome…. like you BC43 was a huge hit here and that T6 is probably on par with BC40’s T6….
BC44 was a mixed bag for me, loved T4, 5, 6 & 8 but the rest just didn’t blow me away

I was disappointed they had used ‘Because the night’ in BC45 so soon, but it is a different mix and works well – same with T8… just about every time I do attack (which is not much) ‘see the light’ is played, so I was not too thrilled it was going to be in BC45 – but it works well.
Thought T2 & T6 were a little slow? – T2 in BC44 had a fast combo that was quite hard, whereas T2 BC45 seems much easier.
T7 in BC45 is a lot more ‘user friendly’ – you can actually hear the lyrics / music instead of the wall of noise in BC44
I think BC45 is a great release and one that will definately grow on me!

Hello from the Netherlands!!

Been reading your blog for quite a while now and I must say that most of your reviews are spot-on. Been a little slow on the classes since the mrs is pregnant, but I get my share.

For years I didn’t do any form of sports or excercise and laughed when my wife went to her BP and BA “jumpy”-classes, but since two years I’ve been hooked!! I also share your opinion that BC doesn’t have the best releases recently. Love BP and BA, though, so that’s my main dish for now, with an occasional RPM to up the sweat-levels even more. Anyway, we’re into BP 74, BC 44 and BA 69, so there’s a lot of Komodo Dragons ahead for me ๐Ÿ™‚

O yeah, I love the classical track in BC 44, but that Mortal Kombat-thing… Yikes ๐Ÿ™‚

Keep up the good work and visit our gym in Apeldoorn should you be in the neighbourhood! You’ll love the instructors: lots of energy, mega-professional and none of that bad Dubia-stuff!!

Gerwin
Netherlands

hi Glen,

Welcome back on earth! NZ of course!

Thanks for sharing a bit! It’s exciting isn’t it?! ๐Ÿ™‚

I know you don’t regard highly of BC44 but I still think it’s way much better overall than BC41 (although both of us share the liking of track 2 and track 8 in BC41)…

BC45? Oops, don’t quite like the muay thai…it’s here and there, the music and moves do not really gel at all.furthermore, a hard metal did not work at all…just like the rock music in BC41…yeah, track 5 is way too off for me too…track 2 is not any better musically…

BC46? can’t wait…hoping the muay thai is way better this time..seems like BC40s…don’t really have a superb muay thai track other than BC42..BC43 and BC44 (love this better, I’d say rank 2nd behind BC42 for muay thai in BC40s…) are ok and good but not excellent…

Hope you’ve come back rejuvenated and gonna kick some storm!
Happy being back! Cheers!

BC46?

Thanks for your comments guys! Hopefully 45 grows on me – will let you know how it goes after the launch!

yeah, all for the “not so positive” news…

Hey for the good ones, BC45 track 4, track 6 and track 8 seem to be rolling along fine…track 10 is nice..really nice!

I like the blocks in track 4 and track 6…hu hu..we have heaps of them..and also the e-kickk….now everybody wanna hate me lately…ha ha..

I was secretly at the filming for BP 76 and all I will say is it was great! There are a couple of tracks (squats, chest, back, shoulders) that the music is just amazing. I can’t wait to get my hands on this release and it will sure be a long wait until December. I have been humming the back track non stop since I was there!!!!

Workout wise it seemed bloody hard but I think part of that has to do with the heavy bars at LM Central. Ouch..

And to have 4 of the top LM people presenting the class was an experience I will not soon forget. It was easily the best pump class I have ever done.

Thanks for the post Glen!!!

Tip: you can do the Komodo Dragon/pushups in a small space if you bring the forward leg and hand back on the last beat (there is enough time) and basically switch sides instead of walking forward.

And, honestly, I liked BC 44 because the high impact work gets started early (as much as I like “Lovedrunk” as a song, it’s pretty slow). I found that some of the recent releases, esp 42 barely got my heart rate up (esp 40 and 42, where the muay thai track might be long, but it has a lot of downtime).

I can’t wait for BP 76! I still haven’t recieved 75 in the mail yet, won’t get it until mid-September. I hate that we’re so late. I actually liked BC 44 the first time I did it, but the conditioning track was crap. BS 80 had WAY better conditioning.

You know what, you did a damn good job writing this filming post given that you weren’t at the filmings!!

And you better get that expectation of seeing any Russian cossack dancing when you see BC46, haha! Definitely none of that in there!!

Oh and mind if I correct something? It’s the track 5 in BC46 that is the Russian one, not the track 6. The track 6 is by a well known artist and will probably go down well, but I’m not too sure how the Russian track will do

oops – thanks! Fixed! ๐Ÿ™‚

Looks good glen thanks again for your blog, can’t wait to see the tracklist, but I hope the rocks come back in 77 ๐Ÿ˜‰

I am so glad that Ruthie T will be in an upcoming Pump release! I hear her name mentioned by the presenters, but they never show her! I can’t wait. Shaunna May is one of my favorite presenters also, she will be hosting an AIM that I am taking in Nov. I like Pump 75, have not had much of a chance to look at Combat 45.

Hi Glen.

I disagree with your points on combat 45 track 9. I think the music is an awesome song. I share your opinion about track 2,5,6 and 7 (No more metal for muay thai, please….). I always ask myself when do we get a hardcore muay thai again like hit ’em from Combat 24….

Keep up the good work

Greetz Mike

Here’s the tracklist for bp76:
01: The Climb (Almighty Essential Radio Edit) (Almighty Pop Factor)
02: Telephone (Original Radio Edit) (Pandora BX)
03: Beautiful Day (Lee Jones)
04: Pyromania (Sun Flash)
05: My First Kiss (3OH!3 feat. Ke$ha)
06: Not Myself Tonight (Christina Aguilera)
07: Storm (DJ Lotus)
08: Bring It Back (Paffendorf)
09: Cooler Than Me (Mike Posner)
10: The Truth (Kris Allen)

Hi NZGlen

Thank you so much for this site. I’ve been reading it for at year or so.

The russian song is also a hit from a danish group called Infernal. You can search for Infernal Kalinka

First time i went to a concert with Infernal was in 1998 i think. They played this song.

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,667 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,654,594 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

