NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

BODYCOMBAT 44 filming

Posted on: January 31, 2010

Rach after the BC44 filming

Rach after BC44

I’m a bit torn as I write this actually. You see, if you’ve read my post on the BODYPUMP 74 filming (which was immediately before combat) you’ll see I finished that class absolutely fizzing. I mean the class just rocked… I was smashed but still completely amped up for BODYCOMBAT 44… I’m sure you know the feeling; exhausted and excited all at the same time?!

It’s exactly the same way I felt right before the BODYCOMBAT 43 filming. That day combat came straight after BODYATTACK 68 – you go into the next class physically exhausted but still amped on a combination of endorphins and adrenaline…

But that’s where the comparison between the two filming days ends really. Here’s why; this is what I wrote about the BODYCOMBAT 43 filming:

Highlights of the release for me? Easy. Track 3 is great, track 8 is freaking fantastic, but track 6, well, in the words of Raina; it’s E-P-I-C!  Honestly I can’t say I’ve ever said a track 6 is my favourite track of a release before – but, definitely it’s the stand out track of BC43. It would be closely followed by track 8 however, this is a beast of a track with a 20 move combo that will smash you into a state of euphoria. We were situated towards the back of the class and all I could do at the end of this track was look to my mate Reymond and just smile – we had completely blown the roof off LM in that last cardio. Smashed is the only word to describe it.

This is why I’m a little torn… after being SO excited about BC43, after leaving and describing tracks as E-P-I-C I’m feeling a bit bad about not being excited about BC44. I loved track 8… it was awesome… but the rest of the release left me feeling a little bleh. I thought maybe it was just me, so afterwards in the changing room I asked a super long term combater what he thought and he agreed with me completely.

Okay, so let’s push that aside and get down to the nitty gritty and I’ll just report the facts (well as much of the facts without going into specifics about music or chorey if that makes sense!) BODYCOMBAT 44 was presented by Dan, Rach and Hernan. Again they were wearing the latest LM clothing line and it looked pretty cool (pic below). The shorts especially were awesome. This release didn’t appear to have a “theme” per se – Dan mentioned he’d been watching a performer on Idol that had him in fits of laughter and that this release – much like that day – was about finding pleasure in the smaller things in life. Hmmm… interesting theme for a combat class! 🙂

BC44 sees a new martial art being brought into the programme. I’m not sure if I’m allowed to tell you what it is or not so I’ll play safe and just say it’s a “ground fighting” style used in mixed martial arts. What else can I tell you – the warm up was a surprise – it was a remix of a song that was used in a VERY recent BC release… Track 4 built on the new move introduced in BC43, and track 6, well, let’s just say track 6 is all about maintaining balance

Track 8 was stand out track for me. I immediately came home and tried to find the track on the net so I could listen to it again… you’ll love it.

So yeah, without giving the game away there’s not too much else I can say! Unfortunately all I’m really allowed to report on is my opinion of the release… and I wish I was more excited about it I really do! What I have found in the past is that there are some releases you just love right off the bat… and there are others that take time to grow on you. BC39 for example, I wasn’t overly impressed with at first and now it’s one of my all time favourites. So, in that regard I really hope BC44 grows on me (and I’m sure it will). In the interim we have BC43 to look forward too… and that is something I’m really excited about!

Hernan, Dan & Rach

Hernan, Dan & Rach - sorry couldn't get a pic of them all together!

13 Responses to "BODYCOMBAT 44 filming"

The second time I did BC44 (which was at filming), I enjoyed it much more than I did the first, so it certainly has Grow On You potential.

That being said, I really was buzzing after that Pump filming. Maybe Combat just didn’t stand a chance after BP74? *shrugs*

Great post, as always, Glen – despite the restrictions 😛 I’m more intrigued now LOL

Hopefully it does Raina! I agree… BP74 was so bloody good that maybe combat was doomed! Mind you – you’d think the endorphins would have a roll-on effect!

Gillian – thanks. It is tougher when you can’t actually write anything specific!

Maybe it was because you were so blown away with meeting me straight before Combat that everything else pales in comparison.

In fact, that MUST be it hehe!

Haha that MUST be it! 😉

I did BC44 maybe 6 or 7 times before filming and it really grew on me. I had the same feeling when I first did it but that’s probably because BC43 was the best one they’ve done so far. You’re right, track 8 BC44 is awesome. I think track 4 is better than BC43. I got track 6 perfect in every practice but it was too crowded at filming, I had a foot in my face! Was my favourite track 9 to date though but I had to sit it for filming so I could compose myself before BB49 filming (which was one of the best ever). They all do such a great job.

yay that’s awesome to hear Hayley – I really hoped that would be the case. BC43 was just fantastic straight away – and I’d really had high hopes 44 would be the same.

Track 6 was a challenge!!!

That’s it, I haven’t even seen it yet but I am already hooked on BC43!!

Here in the UK we get to sample it from March and I wasn’t planning on attending the workshops this time round as all the venue’s close to me are booked up 😦 after reading all your great comments I can’t resist so shall be booking my place today. You’ve just bagged FitPro an extra £30, well done!

Keep up the great work Glen, I do rely on you for an early peak at what’s in store.

Best wishes from a very cold UK!

Cheers
Zoey

I need to know which brand of Muay Thai used clothing rachel, NEZUM or something, pants?..
i wrote of chile

Its a Brazilian mma brand called Venum

[…] this weekend so I’ll give a full review of BODYCOMBAT 44 as soon as I […]

[…] mentioned in my filming post on BC44 that I hoped the release would grow on me. Some releases definitely do take time, I always think of […]

I recenty found some videos with them on youtube. Great instructors, nice to watch!

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,667 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,673,188 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

