NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

Well, newsflash; BODYPUMP works…

Posted on: August 3, 2009

I’m thinking I may have to send Glen Ostergaard a bill for a new wardrobe on my part.

I’ve been teaching BODYPUMP a grand total of one week now, but in preparation I attended several classes before mine, and of course the filming of BODYPUMP 72 last week (write up coming I promise!!) Now the last few days I’ve noticed my clothes have been tighter around my chest, arms and shoulders but never thought too much about it. I actually said to my better half on the weekend that I thought one of my favourite UFC t-shirts must’ve shrunk in the wash as it was pulled really tight across my chest… secretly I was blaming her for doing something different to our clothes!

Well turns out it’s been me who’s been doing something different. A lot more BODYPUMP! Yes, newsflash – maybe my old routine of doing Pump just once per week really wasn’t sufficient. This was definitely solidified in my mind when I put a shirt on for work this morning and I can’t actually flex my bicep it’s now so tight around my arms; this was compounded when one of my colleagues who was in my Pump class last week told me how much bigger I’m looking.

The reality was recently I’ve been doing so much combat (this week will be ten classes as an example) that the amount of Pump classes I’ve been doing has dropped off. But great thing about teaching Pump twice a week is that it will force me to do Pump at least twice a week! (I know the workout isn’t about me – but lets face it instructing or not you’re still lifting weights!) And it would seem that simple change of going from one Pump a week to two is making a big change to my physique….

So Mr Ostergaard if you could just send through your forwarding address for my new clothing bill that would be fantastic 😉

10 Responses to "Well, newsflash; BODYPUMP works…"

Actually, I haven’t been doing much Pump recently, and I’ve noticed that my arms can get into t-shirt sleeves much easier. I didn’t realise that my ‘big biceps’ were getting in the way!

Maybe I need to invoice Mr Ostergaard myself 😉

haha. Actually it’s unbelievable the difference just two weeks of 2-3 pumps per week has made. I guess there’s a reason it claims to be “the fastest way to get in shape”!

2-3 Pump classes are what has changed my body shape so the OH tells me! but I do miss Matty T taking our classes….. how lucky you are to have him over there now and another release in the bag for him too.

2-3 classes of BodyPump is the one class that has changed my bodyshape too so the OH tells me! You are all sooo lucky over there to have Matty T, he was our instructor and I miss him but at least he is now famous!!

well obviusly pump increases ur fit easily….and what’s more u get in shape from a fornight I’ve noticed that I’m starting 2 have six-pack;)

I hear ya on that! My legs and abs have definitely become more defined and I’m only doing 2 pump classes a week! I do tend to take my weights down when I the pump/combat double though. Have to save myself for my one true love! 😛

@Kate – we are so lucky to have Matt Thraxton at New Lynn! We’re loving him, don’t you worry about that 😀

Hah! Pump certainly did change my shape and quite rapidly! I always tell my participants (yeah who would’ve thought this former couch potato would be teaching one day!) to try for 2 classes a week cause it will get them better results (this was actually mentioned also during module training) and hey whaddayaknow it’s true!

Thanks for sharing, this shows that even full fit/ trained people reap the benefits when adding classes.

Ive been doing Pump like crazy since June and I have this same problem. I do 4 classes a week and sometimes even five. Combat I only manage to get in three per week (that’s all the times they offer it at my gym!) but I think that the most results come from the combination of the two.

Wow Glen, ur enthusiasm is really catching.
I found myself ready at the Gym on Saturday(!) at 09.00 a.m(!) for my first ever BP class. It was a blast, I LOVE it!

But my whole body beg to differ, they are sore all over … LOL
It won’t stop me for taking BP classes into my 5BC-3RPM schedule tho … once a week for now should be enough.
Thanks, u really did motivate me on this one.

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,668 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,699,639 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

