NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

Group fitness as a sole source of exercise

Posted on: June 5, 2009

Ever since my “BODYCOMBAT and fat loss” series (part one and part two) I’ve had a lot of questions as to what my exact training programme entails. Many are very surprised to learn that for about 18 months now I get pretty much all my exercise exclusively from group fitness classes. Most ask – “is that enough?” – especially when it comes to weight training. The big question is; “Can you build muscle and lose bodyfat from group fitness alone?”

The answer is a resounding YES as far as I’m concerned. I’ve been in the fitness industry in one capacity or another for over a decade. Now, that’s not to say I’ve always been in shape. I used to own a sport nutrition company here in NZ. When I sold the company at its peak a few years back I took a loooong lay off from all exercise. And I paid the price – about 2 years ago I was close to 20 kg (50 lbs) heavier than I am now – and none of it was muscle! To get back in shape initially I started on the treadmill – but that got old really quick. Then I discovered BODYCOMBAT and the rest as they say is history.

To give you some idea take a look at the two pics below.

Two pics taken 10 years apart; me in 1999 and 2009

The first (on the left) was taken ten years ago back in 1999 in my bodybuilding days. Back then I training everyday at the gym as a bodybuilder. The second pic was taken earlier this year on my way to an event dressed as the wrestler John Cena. I know which exercise programme was more fun; close to two hours a day battling it out lifting weights and reluctantly slugging it out on a treadmill as I was back then – or an hour a day doing a BODYCOMBAT or BODYPUMP class!

My point is this; without question I’ve transformed my body almost exclusively using group fitness. I’ve lost about 50 lbs of fat – toned and built muscle, and more importantly I wake up every day looking forward to getting into the gym rather than dreading it. I used to bust my gutt at the gym to achieve the result on the left – and yes whilst I feel I was in good shape I never ‘enjoyed’ my training. Given I’m in my 30’s now (and let’s face it the ol’ metabolism probably isn’t what it was when I was in my 20’s) I feel I’m in the best shape of my life – and I’ve had an absolute ball doing it!

If you wanna know or see more post a comment below or add me on facebook, and hopefully this post helps answer this seemingly age old question! πŸ™‚

14 Responses to "Group fitness as a sole source of exercise"

Hmmm just realised I never actually mentioned what my weekly training programme entails. Pretty straight forward really – I teach or participate in about 7 or 8 BODYCOMBAT classes per week – and 1-2 BODYPUMP classes.

Simple as that! πŸ˜‰

Simple? Meh. πŸ™„ πŸ˜†
I agree with you totally though. I don’t do any weight training and have only recently started doing BP (about 2 months ago). I’ve reshuffled ‘ye olde’ routine and manage to get to 6 classes a week. I’m definitely becoming more ripped. So YAY for group fitness (and the komodo dragon! πŸ˜‰ )

Well simple to articulate.. perhaps not as simple to do! πŸ˜‰

And hey congrats on the results… we rock!

2 years ago I was 50 pounds (20Kg) overweight, borderline diabetic, high cholesterol and high bloodpresure Then I started at the gym and started eating low carb.
It took me a year to loos all that weight, one pound a week. Starting with the old treadmill and on the bike the first 6 months. To make a long story short, I now do bodypump 3 times a week, bodycombat 2 times a week and cardio kick once a week. One day I have off. I look way better, have perfect numbers on cholesterol and i’m not borderline diabetic anymore. My weight needs still a little tweaking. I have toned too. All in all it was not so easy, being almost 60 years young means you have to work real hard to get some muscles back.
It can be done if you really want it. πŸ™‚

Agreed! Group fitness is the fun and interactive way to get fit! IF you don’t cheat πŸ˜›

@Blips – wow that’s FANTASTIC!! Awesome effort – just checked out your blog too… brilliant results!

@Audrey – yep I’m with you… I guess that’s one of the great things about being the instructor – you kinda can’t cheat!! (mind you in saying that some still do haha) πŸ˜€

What a great topic, as I have often wondered if all the ripped instructors teach their 20 classes a week, and then go and kill themselves in the gym…

I’m loving my Combat/ Pump/ Attack combo at the moment, along with some Yoga ( for the soul as much as the stretching!)

I know the feeling of not being able to wait for the next class… No matter how hard the rest of life becomes LES MILLS is ALWAYS there!!!

LUCKY US!!!

πŸ˜‰

Thanks for the great article Glen!!

Jean

I do 3 Combat classes and 1-2 Pump classes a week and in 6 months have seen great results! As far as actual weight loss is concerned I have only lost about half a stone, but I have really toned up and turned that fat into muscle! I’ve dropped 2 dress sizes, I’m now back into my ideal BMI, my confidence has sky-rocketed and I just feel great about myself!

My next move is within a year or so I want to do a fitness training course, then onto the Les Mills Combat instructing course. My instructors have quite literally changed my life and I would love to be able to do that for others!

Great article, great blog πŸ™‚

I agree with Glenn’s article, the picture 1999 vs 2009 speaks for itself. My experience is different, I am combining RPM and body pump everyday x 5 days a week back to back. In the past 5 months, I have achieved good results, indeed. Percent body fat is down, I did not measure how much my fat loss is but the measurement that I used : I was able to wear my size 40 summer suit size 40 from 42 and from 36 in to 32 in. waistline pants. I modified my diet though, I cut back back on carb to 1 cup rice per day(Filipinos eat 3 times a day with rice, breakfast, lunch and dinner). I do Body Combat at least 2 -3x a week if my schedule permits it on top of RPM and Body pump. Les Mills programs rocks!!!

Hi Glen – yeah the photo on the right is better, because the one on the left you kind of look like an certain Australian cricketer!

I kind of agree and disagree. If I had a choice I’d do BC 7 days a week, but LM here doesn’t have it on a Friday or Sunday.
I do BC Mon / Tue (sometimes) / Thur / Sat and Pump on Wed. But in Jan I saw the PT at LM my wife was using and she designed a weights routine for me, using free weights and machines, plus abs & press ups / hover…etc.. – and I have noticed a difference, I can do press ups on my toes, my chest has opened out more, the bar on my back to sit better during squats. and I’ve noticed some biceps forming. I’ve been doing this routine on Thurs before 6:40pm BC.
The only problem is the machines / weights… are always busy in peak times (5-6:30pm) and sometimes the piece of equipment I need next is already in use and it’s frustrating!

Hey Glen,
Really enjoying your Blog.
Ive just retired from Rugby and have thrown myself into Pump and Combat. Big downside is that Im a Front Row forward so need to be careful of the old knees but Fat is flying off me. Ive also put on about a 7kg in added muscle.
Currently doing 3-4 Combat classes a week and 2 Pump.

Next step is sorting out my Carb fetish!
Cheers
G

Group fitness as a sole source of exercise? Hell yeah!:

http://www.lesmills.com/westcoast/en/members/bodypump/success-stories.aspx

Mine is the third story down.

Found this site through a few links via FaceBook. Love it!

Wow Cassi that’s an incredible story! Certainly a positive effect of BODYPUMP that I’m sure hadn’t even occurred to the creators. Amazingly inspirational – wonderful to meet you! πŸ˜€

Hi there, I’m a UK instructor and teach combat and attack. I also teach a conditioning class with weights and participate in pump occasionally. I teach 8 – 10 classes a week at the moment (as well as working full time in another day job) I became addicted to combat 4 yrs ago and i’ve never ever been in the gym using machines etc. Since starting combat I’ve lost 2 1/2 stones in weight and have transformed my body shape and i’ve seen many of my participants do the same with combat, pump and attack.

Group fitness can most definitely do everything you need to transform your shape and fitness and I’m living proof!

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,667 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,672,097 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

