NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

BODYPUMP Module completed… OUCH!

Posted on: March 15, 2009

If you read this blog regularly you may recall that I registered for the BODYPUMP module a couple months ago. I enjoy Pump (Combat however is definitely my passion) and figured it would be a nice additional feather in my cap. I wasn’t too sure if I wanted to teach it, but, figured if a gym needed cover or the opportunity arose it would be a great skill to have. And I still believe all those things…

What I didn’t count of was the actual weekend rolling around so bloody quickly and me being so unprepared! The last few weeks especially have been very hectic for me, two other local combat instructors have been away and I’ve been covering all their classes (plus mine) resulting in, and this isn’t an exaggeration, my teaching 14 combat classes per week – on top of a full time job. I don’t believe in the “I didn’t have time” excuse (we all have the exact same amount of minutes in a day; what you’re really saying is “it wasn’t a priority for me” ) – but, doing all those classes did mean it was very hard to get a Pump class in. In reality I haven’t done a Pump class in probably 6 weeks…

Now, that’s all well and good but if you know anything about the Pump module you’ll know going into 3 intensive days of absolute Pump craziness when your body hasn’t done a pump class in over a month is NOT a good idea! Day three finally finished today and boy – I am in a lot of pain!!!!

As for the module itself, well I’ll make this relatively brief as I have to be on a plane to Perth in a few hours but the weekend rocked. The module was taken by Matt Thraxton (GFM at Les Mills New Lynn and presenter on the BODYPUMP 69 DVD) itself was structured in a very similar way to the combat module – day one we started with a Pump class (funny that) covered a lot of theory and basically spent the entire day in learning mode. Day two we presented our tracks twice (meaning we did two full classes), more theory, plus we did the BODYPUMP Challenge, which I am convinced is just an excuse for the trainer to literally belt the living crap out of us for an hour (was a blast though!). Day three we presented twice again (different tracks), and spent a bit of time covering our respective strengths and weaknesses based on our performance (much like the combat module watching myself on DVD was a bit of an eye opener!)

There were nine of us in the group and the experience range varied widely, from instructors of other programmes (one was an RPM instructor, another a Jam instructor), a few Personal Trainers, to a couple of people who’d literally never stepped foot on a stage. All up as you’d expect the 3 days entailed a boatload of exercise (probably didn’t help myself that I did a combat class on each of the days as well… gotta get the cardio in ya know! – though the other peeps in the module did think I was rather mental for doing that…)

I learnt a tonne and would like to go into it in more detail but I literally have to get some sleep as I have to be up to go to the airport in 4 hours. As such my postings may be rather sparse (read that as non existent) over the next ten days but I promise I’ll bring you right up to speed right after my holiday… I think it’ll take me about that long to recover!

8 Responses to "BODYPUMP Module completed… OUCH!"

OMG…that’s like 5 BP classes + BP Challenge in 3 days??!! And you can still lift your arms to type?

You go, bro!

Hi, I’m from Brazil, I returned to academia to 6 months, I’m addicted to student body combat, body pump and RPM has practiced more in 6 years! Follow your blog for 1 month, I give you congratulations on the blog because I know him through a lot before the release here in Brazil.
Keep posting the news!

I bet it was great getting to hang out with ol Matty T! I envy you man!

Hi!
Came across your blog just recently. Good to read you have enjoyed your BP module training. It’s fun to read about this, as it is exactly the same as in the Netherlands. Since last year I’m part of the dutch trainer team and I still think it’s amazing that something like BP is all over the world and instructors from all over the globe have this same unforgettable experience. I’m proud that I’m in a position that I can give this experience to a whole bunch of people and share my passion.
Hope you will enjoy teaching your BP classes as much as you do BC!
Grtz

Great stuff….. Matt came down here and was part of the team that launched BC39 and he was in the team that did the Pump release.
he seems like a nice guy (for a Pom!)
BP is my second favourte LM program… *L*

Thanks for the kind words Glen! I am glad you enjoyed the module.

Thanks too to Nick and Rob 🙂

I actually have a BC module this weekend at New Lynn, so you could always swing on by if you’re bored – or if 14 BC classes a week ain’t enough for ya 😉

Stay strong buddy.

Matty T

Hey Guys!

You guys are so damn lucky to have Matt T.

You stole him from us (UK), and it sure looks like he’s there to stay.

It is so good to read all those good comments about Matt, I was

fortunate to have met Matt when he started teaching at Esporta, near

his hometown. I quicky realised although I had been a keen

excerciser for many years, I had no concept or understanding of the

technical aspects of excercising, and Matt brings that across with every

class he teaches. It is important to understand how your body works

and responds to excercises – (look at me talking all techno like am an instructor)

Matty, as you guys call him is the most kind, sincere, caring and most

understanding guy you could ever wish to meet.

Take care of him for us, as he was our Fitness Guru and a treasured gem in the fitness world in the UK.

….Thanks Matt for inspiring so many of us over here in Somerset to

work out hard but also to love and enjoy workouts…I know I do but they are not the same without you buddy.

Greatly Missed & Loved by all.

(ps: I will not disclose the sum you paid me to send this on the blog)..just kidding guys, we trully love and miss him so enjoy him while you can cos…WE WANT HIM BACK!!! 🙂

I whole heartedly agree with you Rosie, We all miss Matt so very much. Like you we would like him back ASAP. Although we were lucky enough to see him back in February this year in Auckland.
My favorite combat cooldown track will never be the same again not after he and Grant Goes had a bash at it !! :o)
Thanks Glen for all your updates theres a few of us here in Somerset that keep up with you .

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,669 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,720,679 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

