NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

Dieting sucks…

Posted on: September 26, 2008

So I’ve got my Les Mills BodyCombat instructor module in exactly two weeks. Three days of Body Combat bliss that, all going well will result in my official certification… yay! Only thing is, I got it in my stupid fricken head that I should be in REALLY good shape for it, so two weeks ago I started dieting in a big way. Don’t get me wrong, I was already in good shape (if I do say so myself! haha) but, I thought heck why not get in AMAZING shape so I really look the part! The point of which I honestly have no idea… it’s not like I’m gonna be strutting around Les Mills with my shirt off so an extra couple % points of BF lost aren’t going to make much of a difference in clothes! Maybe I just wanted to set myself this goal…. regardless of the stupidity of the idea I’m doing it. And it sucks, big time.

My diet now is seriously down to two 160 calories low carb protein bars per day, and two smallish two meals of skinless chicken breast (with some broccoli or salad). And that’s it. Total calories about 1600. Add to that the 800-2000 extra calories I burn per day exercising on top of my basal metabolic expenditure (estimated at a smidgen under 2000 calories per day) and I’m in a daily deficit of 1200-2400 calories every day. Which means I’m getting very lean very quickly. The downside? Well, where do I start; I’m grumpy, perpetually tired, sleeping badly and, just to put some icing on the cake (yummmm cake…) I can’t remember what it’s like to have any, umm (how do I put this…) *ahem* “mojo”. Plus, I’m fricken starving all the time.

But at least my training isn’t suffering. Great thing about group fitness is the second you’re on stage, or even on the floor with a whole bunch of like-minded people and the music starts pumping the fact you’re ready to keel over in exhaustion just disappears out of your mind… thank God! And it’s only for two more weeks… 14 days…336 hours or around 20,000 minutes. Not that I’m counting or anything…

1 Response to "Dieting sucks…"

Dieting and exercising are very helpful in establishing a healthy lifestyle. I find that too many people look at losing weight for appearance and not for the health benefits associated with it. It’s quite an odd perspective.

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,668 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,699,705 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

