NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic

Calories burnt in a BodyCombat class

Posted on: September 24, 2008

I get a lot of questions regarding the number of calories one can burn during a BodyCombat class (or BodyPump class for that matter). Whilst this is almost impossible to determine with 100% accuracy some of the more advanced heart rate monitors (HRM) have the ability to estimate your caloric expenditure using calculations based on your weight, gender, resting heart rate and of course your heart rate whilst exercising. I wore my heart rate monitor (a Polar F11) to every class I did for three straight months, so I’ve now got a pretty good idea of the approx amount of calories I personally burn in a class.

With a few exceptions I almost always track between 800-900 calories per Body Combat class – now that may seem high but there’s a couple of factors to bear in mind. First I’m not a small guy, I’m a dash under 6’1″, and weigh about 82 kg (about 182 lbs), and I’m one of those freaks that puts 110% effort into every movement, and then some (like jump knees at every opportunity!) I’ve also found you burn a lot more calories whilst instructing, not sure if it’s the extra adrenalin boost, nerves boosting your heart rate or the fact that you know you’re on display so always strive for perfect technique and maximum effort – but it’s definitely noticeable. In fact I’ve gotten as high as 1050 calories in a one hour class before!

In class this morning a member mentioned she only burns about 600 per class (she also wears an HRM), and that got me thinking. I weight about 80 kg and burn say, 800 in an average class (with no extra tracks thrown in). She’s about 60 kg and burns 600 on average (and she does train very hard). Could there be a simple direct relationship here? It does make sense that if you’re 25% larger you’ll exert 25% more energy moving that mass. Maybe for those without a HRM a basic calculation of 100 calories per 10kg of bodyweight could work? Food for thought anyway…

8 Responses to "Calories burnt in a BodyCombat class"

Found an interesting site – take a look at http://www.drgily.com/activity-calories-burned.php?ex_id=15430 It seems pretty accurate, I typed in 60 minutes at my weight (180lbs) and it came out 850 or so calories… pretty much exactly what my HRM says. Give it a try :)

Holy cow, that is interesting! Pretty darned accurate! The most I’ve ever burnt in a combat class is about 600 calories and I’m about 60kg at 5’8″. Heck, would love to get up to over 1k in a class! XD

i have a qns! i need to slim down and i’m doing am hour of bc or jogging alomost everyday. which is more effective?

Hi all,

I have a question…. So based on the assumption of 100Cals per 10Kgs, I would burn around 570Cals per BC class. I also work at high intensity for the full class, BUT I also wear weighted gloves during the workout (1.5lb each, so a 3lb pair). I read a lot about using these weighted gloves, some good reviews, some bad, but so far I’ve had amazing workouts with them (and luckily no pulls, tears or injuries). I guess Im curious as to how many more calories do you think I burn because of wearing the gloves? I wear them right through till the end, even for the ab track.

If someone would help answer my query, I’d really appreciate it :D

Thanks!!

Anna

… I guess I should mention my stats:

Female, 5″4 (and a bit), 57kgs or 125 lbs, 24 years old.

Thanks :D

I would point out it is heart rate based. The heart rate goes up, the intensity increases. No coincidence…

There is no proper way to measure without a good heart rate monitor really. You need it as it will measure your heart rate, base it on age and weight and the good ones will measure on the fly as you work out.

Other than that, it’s all speculation. The same workout done at 50% intensity will not produce the same results between two similar body types when the other person is pushing 90% max…

Just a fact so you guys can just know it’s about doing your best and forgetting everything else.

well im 6’1″ and weigh about 159lbs (71kg) and according to that link, Glen, i burn 748 calories….. thats not TOO bad i’d say :P considering that im only 16 and put about 80% into it on lazy days… haha

it says i burned 917 calories??? TELL ME THIS ISNT A JOKE!!! man i didnt know i’d burned that much!

Have your say!

Follow me if you dare…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8,469 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 6,068,198 combaters have visited

Tweet tweet!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,469 other followers

